South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation
Board of Barber Examiners

1. Application must be printed in ink or typed.

2. Application must be signed by owner/applicant and teacher and be notarized.
Your application is not complete without these signatures.

3 Read each area very carefully. If any information is not marked or questions
not answered, your application may be returned.

4. The teacher must hold a current license with the Board.
5. Your school must be in compliance with the South Carolina Laws, Rules and

Regulations as well as the Sanitary Rules and Regulations (enclosed).

Please Submit All Of The Following Requested Information Along With
Your Application:

1. Submit a bulletin and curriculum containing full information as to the
operation of the school including physical equipment, number of barber
chairs, work stands and floor space of practical and theory department.

ra

Submit the hours of operation.

3 Submit schedule of hours for each class.

4. Submit the schedule of subjects taught. (Please refer to 17-14, S.C. State Board
of Barber Examiners Statutes and Regulations.)

5 Submit a floor plan detailing the square footage of the school.

6. Submit a detailed map as well as written directions to the school.

7. Submit the completed application with the above requested information

with the fee of $300.00.



Barber School License Application Instructions
Page Two

Inspections are conducted between 8:30 a.m. and 5 p.m. Tuesday through Friday. The
owner must make arrangements in writing for the school inspection.

Mail the completed application and a check or money order for the correct amount
to:

South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation
Board of Barber Examiners

Post Office Box 11329

Columbia, SC 2921101329

Your application for a new school must be in the office 30 days prior to your opening
date. Your school cannot open for business until it has passed the State Board inspection
order for your application to be considered, it must be completed and submitted along
with the proper fees and requested information. You will be notified of the date, time and
place to meet with the Board once completed application is received. If the application is
incomplete, it will not be considered for licensing and will be returned.

All Applications will Be Returned If Not Properly Completed
Or If Appropriate Fee Is Not Enclosed

Please notify the S.C. Board of Barber Examiners office at (803) 896-4494 if you feel you are
eligible under the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) for special accommodation either in
completing the application process or in taking the required examination.

Rev. 10/01



South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation

‘LR Board of Barber Examiners

S Tl Dezarmmast of
I R e L e

RETURN FORM TO:

FEE SCHEDULE . FOR OFFICE USE ONLY
Syntergy Business Park
s s 110 Centerview Drive License No.:
Initial Fee Two year license $300 Post Office Box 11329
Location Change $300 Columbia, South Carolina 29211-1329 FY:

Phone: (803) 896-4491 Fax: (803) 896-4484

. Date of Issue:
Ownership Change §140 Internet Address: www,lir.state.sc.us
Shop Name Change $140 i
__Check _ Money Order _ Cash
Type or Print in Ink
.SCHOOL INFORMATION
School Name:
Address:
Number Street City State Zip County
Planned Opening Date; Telephone No:
.SCHOOL TEACHER INFORMATION (To be answered by School Teacher)
School Teacher’s Name: *Social Security No.
School Teacher's License No. Year Issued: Business Telephone No:
Have you read and understand the South Carolina Barber laws and regulations? Yes No
Signature of School Teacher Date
3. CHANGE OF SCHOOL LOCATION
Previous School Address:
Number Street City State Zip
County
Has this school ever been licensed as a cosmetology school? Yes No If yes, when?
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4. CHANGE OF SCHOOL OWNERSHIP

Previous School Owner's Name: *Social Security No:

5. CHANGE OF SCHOOL NAME

Previous Name as shown on License: License No:

6. SCHOOL OWNER INFORMATION

School Owner’s Name: *Social Security No:

Address:

Number Street City State Zip

Business Telephone No:

Have you been found guilty, pleaded guilty, or entered a plea of nolo contendere in this or any other state for the illegal or unauthorized
practice in a professional occupation? Yes No (If ves, give details on a separate sheet.)

Have you received disciplinary action by an employer for problems with your job performance related to any physical, psychiatric or
substance abuse disorder (limitation) since you last renewed your license? Yes No

Have you read and understand the South Carolina Barber laws and regulations? Yes No
All information in this document is a matter of public record subject to disclosure pursuant to the S.C. Freedom
of Information Act, except items designated with this symbol (*).

When you provide a check as payment, you authorize us to use information from the check to make a one-time
electronic fund transfer from your account, or to process the payment as a check transaction. You authorize us
to collect a fee through electronic fund transfer from your account if your payment is returned unpaid. Please

provide the following on your check: Drivers License #; Full Name; Street Address and Phone Numbers.

7. AFFIDAVIT AND SIGNATURES

I understand that any omission, inaccuracy or failure to make full disclosure in this application may be deemed sufficient reason to
withhold, suspend or revoke a license issued by the Board. I understand that the Board may make such inquiry and investigation concerning my
record or background as the Board in its judgement deems proper. 1 further agree to furnish any additional information requested by the Board.

I affirm that I am the shop owner and applicant named herein and that the answers and information contained herein are true to the best
of my knowledge and belief,

Signature of Owner/Applicant Date

Signature of Teacher License No.

Sworn and subscribed to before me this day of 20

My Commission Expires:

Notary Public

All applications will be returned if not properly completed

or fees not enclosed.
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